Regions and Divisions

Because of the geographical area covered by the Society, meetings of members and other activities are generally conducted on a Regional basis. Each Region has its own Management Committee consisting of at least a Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer. The Chairman of each committee is a member of the AHS Council. The Society may, by special resolution, increase or decrease the number of Regions it recognises for the purposes of the constitution.

Currently there are four Regions and one Division: the East Australia Region, the West Australia Region, the New Zealand Region, the South West Pacific Region. The AOTM Division services the needs of those new members of the Society who were originally members and supporters of Australia on the Map: 1606 - 2006. The AOTM Division continues to maintain its own website.

West Australia Region

The West Australia Region supports those members residing in Western Australia, Northern Territory and South Australia. The main activities of the region are centred on the Perth/Fremantle area with technical meetings being held periodically throughout the year.

Read More

East Australia Region

The East Australia Region supports those members residing in all states other than WA, SA, NT and in New Zealand. The main activities of the region are centred on, but not limited to, the Newcastle/Sydney/Wollongong area with technical meetings being held periodically throughout the year.

Read More

New Zealand Region

As the name suggests, the New Zealand Region serves the interests of those members resident in New Zealand and the NZ islands. They produce and maintain their own web site to keep in touch with their wide spreads membership. In 2003 they hosted the most successful HYDRO 2003 Symposium.

Read More

South West Pacific Region

The South West Pacific (SWP) Region supports members residing East Timor, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. Other small islands states other than those listed are also welcome to join the SWP Region.

Activities such as seminars, information evenings and general meetings will be arranged to meet the needs of SWP members. Conferences and symposiums may also be arranged. Such activities will centre on Suva, will be at least biannually and focus on SW Pacific issues.

Due to the nature of the small island developing states within the region, and the significant issues such as climate change, sustainable development, safety of navigation and dependence upon maritime transport, hydrography plays a key part in the development of the region.

SW Pacific membership fees have been determined in order to develop and nurture the interest in hydrography and related sciences within the region.

Read More

Australia on the Map Division

The AOTM Division services the needs of those new members of the Society who were originally members and supporters of "Australia on the Map: 1606 - 2006" (AOTM). The focus was particularly on the many Mariners who (whether by accident or design) charted our coasts – and put “Australia on the Map”, thereby making it known to the world. The primary vision of AOTM continues to be improving the understanding and knowledge of the nation’s history for all people of Australia. The AOTM Division continues to maintain its own website at below link:

Visit AOTM Website


Members of the Society are regularly involved in a number of associated forums. The focus of these include peer assessment, professional committees and industry associated conferences. Currently these include the Australasian Hydrographic Surveying Certification Panel (AHSCP), the SSI Land and Hydrographic Commission and the Trans Tasman Hydrographic Commission (TTHC).
Details of these committees and others with which the ahs is currently involved are noted below:

Australian Hydrographic Surveying Certification Panel

In May-June 1994, as a result of several years of representations by Hydrographic Society members, an election was carried out among the Hydrographic community, under the direction of the Institution of Surveyors Australia (ISA), to elect members of a national accreditation body. 

On 4 August 1994 the five members elected met for the first time under the ex-Officio Chairman, the Hydrographer, RAN. It was decided that the body be called the "Australian Hydrographic Surveyors Panel", (AHSP). In 1997 the panel was renamed the "Australian Hydrographic Surveyors Accreditation Panel", (AHSAP). In about 2003 the ISA was restructured as the Spatial Sciences Institute (SSI). Since April 2005, the Panel has been renamed as the Australasian Hydrographic Surveying Certification Panel (AHSCP) and it continues to assess qualifications but now under the joint auspices of the Surveying & Spatial Sciences Institute (SSSI) and the NZIS.

Certified Hydrographic Surveyors

The Australasian Hydrographic Surveyors Certification Panel (AHSCP) is jointly sponsored by the SSSI and NZIS and is the certification arm of the SSSI Hydrography Commission. It has been certifying hydrographic surveyor competency in Australia, New Zealand and internationally in accordance with FIG/IHO/ICA Standard S-5 Standards of Competence for Hydrographic Surveyors since 1994. AHSCP certification has become the de-facto standard for the assessment of hydrographic surveyor competency in the port and coastal zone management sectors of the maritime industry in Australia and New Zealand. To review the current list of certified hydrographic surveyors, refer to the SSSI Hydrography Website.

Offshore Surveying - Promotional DVD

A long term goal of the SSSI Hydrography Commission is for the offshore oil and gas industry (regulators, operators and survey contractors) to also adopt AHSCP certification as the fundamental competency standard for hydrographic surveyors working in that environment, given that hydrographic surveying is either at the forefront, or closely associated with many aspects, of offshore exploration and production. The production of a DVD is a step in that direction. The DVD can be run from SSSI Videos.

Further Information

Application Forms and details of the guidelines and certification requirements can be obtained from:

The Secretary (Jasbir Randhawa),
Australasian Hydrographic Surveying Certification Panel (AHSCP)
c/- Locked Bag 8801, Wollongong, NSW 2500, Australia

Phone: +61 2 4223 6672;
Fax: +61 2 4223 6599;